01.05.10 | Maybe Refuge @ Chimera Lounge

While Maybe Refuge might be a relatively new group on the indie rock scene, there is a lot of history behind them.  The band members are all good buddies and come from two seperate bands, the Violets&Viruses and the former Shades of Novemeber, both whose concerts I’ve had the pleasure of attending a number of times.

My ears or my connection to the members may not be all that good but as an audience member and a fan, there’s alot of visual details that are retained in each of them which I find interesting to observe and photograph.  Examples include the kind of detail in the persona, stage presence and even the quirky performance enhancing bits such as the choice of instruments and lighting.

So the evening of May 1st, I found myself heading up to Steeles Ave. where Toronto meets the town of  Markham to a trendy Hong Kong inspired bar/lounge called the Chimera Lounge to check out what is to be the third performance of theirs that I’ve attended.  (Prior locations included the Aspetta Cafe at Kensington Market and Rex’s Den Restaurant at UofT Scaroborough.)

Chimera Lounge is quite modern with edgy clean cut forms, a bold two colour palette and simple but lofty furnishings.  Adorning the walls are flags of various countries with well known Hong Kong street signs and of course some flatscreens to watch the game.

I suppose sponsorship will always have its way (SKYY Vodka anyone?) but here’s a quirky bit,  Kevin Mok, the drummer, has had neat ways of bringing about extra lighting to the performances.  Its not backbreaking stuff either but it works miracles when giving the stage and the performers the extra punch.  (Imagine the set without his LED strips and the side lights, ouch!)

Kevin on the Cajon

Joey, Maybe Refuge

Hiu, Maybe Refuge

John, Maybe Refuge

You can check out more of their stuff on their Youtube page : http://www.youtube.com/mayberefuge

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “01.05.10 | Maybe Refuge @ Chimera Lounge

  1. ssango says:

    hehe when I first read the title, I thought it said “my refuge at the camera lounge” LOL. I think I’ve got photography on the mind.

    You must go to a lot of these sorts of events. I’ve never been to anything like it, but it seems like it’s a lot of fun, especially when the music is good. I shall go and listen to some of their songs soon 😀

    Oh and yesterday I heard about this Spring bird festival at Tommy Thompson Park… I want to go and take pictures! lol. I need to find out more information about it though 😛 I wonder how I would get there… any ideas?

  2. Haha yea no worries, its a broad spectrum. I was lucky to have seen a couple at school and show it did help prepare for the plunge into hysteria when Lisa and Janet invited me to see Hello Beautiful at the Horseshoe Tavern.

    Maybe Refuge is playing again this saturday, 8pm at the Hard Luck Bar, 812 Dundas West. Welcome to join me! haha

    Whao, I didn’t know about this bird festival and its this saturday too! (Time to change my plans for the morning haha) For Tommy Thompson, you can take the Queen E. Streetcar all the way to Leslie and then walk south on Leslie past Lakeshore and into the park. Its a bit of a hike to get into the middle of Tommy Thompson so bring some food and of course a telephoto lens haha.

  3. Linda says:

    Ahh, I love these pictures~
    By the way hi Peter.~ I had no idea you had a wordpress lol.

Leave a Reply

