18.09.10 | Engagement Manager Orientation

Just had my first shoot for Endeavour, Volunteer Consulting for Non-Profits.  I got the call to shoot on the week of the orientation event iirc and was quite excited despite having a wedding to cover the day after.  The morning was spent in one of the meeting rooms at Toronto’s Metro Hall bringing together managers for a refresher on the realities of the consulting and team management task ahead as consulting projects were set to commence.

Largely, the material does not readily translate or conjur visual images and finding ourselves in one of the many meeting rooms at Metro Hall furnished with gnarly tables and green wallpaper do little for inspiration.

…but I find these types of opportunites are more exciting because they present the kind of challenge where you don’t get the clean backgrounds or the stage lighting yet your objectives remain the same.  In this case, I was given a little more.  I was going to need a little something for the website as well and with that said, the web designer also pointed out, almost with a tinge of disappointment, that no one wears any colour to these meetings.

It was true and what I had going for me shrunk that much more.  On top of that, if anyone stood out more at the meeting, it was me.  Measuring at 5’6″ standing, I was shifting around with two cameras hanging off my shoulders and doing tai chi/orangatang poses behind everyone as they conversed.  If I was going to succeed, I’d have to revert to other means in the photographic repetoire.  Not just timely observation but proactive observation.  I smiled at the remark.

Proactive observation to me is not just observing for patterns but using an anticipated or patterned action/event and by the assumption of its due (re)occurance, I write (compose) my narrative.

I think alot of photographers are aware of just thinking ahead in general but often we get distracted or don’t come with a process or flow in mind so when this kinds of events do occur, we often find ourselves chasing them with our cameras as opposed to being ready for them when they happen.  That’s not to mention if you expand this thinking, at any given point in time, there could be multiple picture opportunities from a variety of perspectives so its not so much being there at the right place and time but being there for the right place and time for your shot.

If you think about your photos before hand, you can not only get better shots, but lower your profile and be more discreet at the same time which is something I think many forgot.  The last thing you want to do is go Hulking over the event to get the perfect shot.

So there you have it, a little snippet into my first day photographing for Endeavour Volunteer Consulting and a bit of the thinking process behind event photography.

Thanks for dropping by and as always I’d love to hear your comments and suggestions!

Pete,

Tagged

2 thoughts on “18.09.10 | Engagement Manager Orientation

  1. Andrea says:

    Great photos and interesting recap from your perspective, thanks!

  2. Chris says:

    Very true!

    It’s hard to think ahead when you’re not sure what the people are like, what the event is like and what the environment is like. It just take practice I guess.

    I always feel like I’m going to stick out like a sore thumb at events. I feel like people are always gonna get annoyed at my load ass shutter…

Leave a Reply

